How I learned to stop worrying…

This post by Paul Roemer helped me confront some of the unconcious fears and stressors I have been having about the rush to satisfy the meaningful use criteria.  I need to remind myself  that the ‘meaningful use’ money is like  a one dollar bill in the middle of the street, and that it’s worth waiting for the light to change.   The hectic pace of leading the development of an oncology EMR/EHR project is real enough. I’m going to learn to stop worrying and love the EMR.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “How I learned to stop worrying…”

  1. Joy Hester Says:

    You do love the EMR. You love the challenge and have embraced the entire process. Your ability to look at the entire process instead of separate bits and pieces will make the project a success. I think this is where others have failed. There are too many bits of information that are scattered thoughout some EMR’s. The ability to bring this all together in a simple to use and easy to follow way is the key.

  2. orlowski Says:

    I appreciate your comments. But remember, it is also because of enthusiastic doctors and nurses like you who are willing to go out of their way to help me understand the little things that may be missed elsewhere.

  3. Rick Orlowski, MD Says:

    As we concentrate on solving our clinical problems we certainly will satisfy government criteria of “meaningful use”. We are solving difficult clinical problems and enhancing safety for goodness sake. When we are finished I am sure that a government regulator, such as the fat controller, Mr Topham Hat, will come along and say that this is a very useful program. Now, keep your eye on the ball and keep swinging your bat at the real problems we encounter.

  4. kd4ttc Says:

    and learned to love the bomb” is the rest of that quote, I believe. I’ve already decided that for me the 3% cost of Medicare decrease in reimbursement will be far less than the cost of maintenance of an EMR. My system is just a bunch of pdf’s. works for me, with about zero cost. However, in an oncology group that 3% of Medicare could be a lot of money. Will your software meet meaningful use? It strikes me that the feds meaningful use requirement and the push to EMR is one of the most anticompetitive things that has come out of washington in years. Many physicians considering an emr will want to know if it meets meaningful use as an initial screen of the suitability of EMR software. I understand that presently it costs $10000 to have software certified. Most EMR software could be cobbled up by a few college kids in a year of part time work. My, the EMR’s we could have if such was allowed to flourish.

Leave a Reply

